WE ARE AVAILABLE 24/7 508.966.7254
When Rebuilding Your Life Is
At Stake, Experience Matters.
Helping Families in Your Neighborhood for Over 30 Years

New Bedford Car Accident Attorney

Protecting the Rights of Auto Accident Victims in Massachusetts

Whether you were injured in a minor fender bender or a serious accident in New Bedford, you deserve to hold the at-fault party liable for your injuries to obtain the compensation you need to recover. Even a seemingly small injury can become a serious health concern.

So do not hesitate to see a doctor as soon as possible and consult with a New Bedford car accident lawyer about your options. At Morgan & Murphy, our experienced team of injury lawyers has represented over 10,000 injury victims and will put our knowledge and experience to work for you.

Contact our firm today at (508) 966-7254 to schedule a free consultation. Our New Bedford car accident lawyers represent clients from multiple offices throughout Massachusetts.

What are PIP Benefits in Massachusetts?

In the state of Massachusetts, individuals involved in car accidents are covered by Personal Injury Protection (PIP) benefits. Each person injured in a motor vehicle accident has a total of $8,000 of PIP benefits available to cover medical bills, lost wages, and replacement services if you are unable to perform household chores. If you also have a health insurance policy, special rules might apply to your situation.

For those covered under a private health insurance policy, the PIP insurance company will cover the first $2,000 of medical expenses, while the remaining bills are sent to the health insurance carrier for payment. Anything that cannot be covered by the health insurance carrier will be submitted to the PIP carrier.

Since Massachusetts is a no-fault state, most accident claims are filed up PIP benefits. The idea is if everything has these benefits their disposal, regardless of who was at fault for an injury accident, there would be less of a need to file suits against individual drivers. If you claim meets certain prerequisites, however, you can file a claim against another driver. These requirements are:

  • Usually, you must have already filed for PIP benefits
  • Your medical expenses must be at least $2,000, and / or
  • Your injuries are severe, such as a fractured bone or permanent catastrophic injury

The statute of limitations in Massachusetts for either a PIP claim or one against a driver must be done within three years of the date of the accident.

Frequently Asked Questions About Car Accidents

How Long Do You Have to Report A Car accident to Your Insurance?

There is no hard deadline for reporting an accident, however you should report the accident to your insurance company ASAP.

Do You Have To Call The Police After A Minor Car Accident?

You should always call the police after an accident. The police are required to file a report only if there is an ambulance ride to the hospital.

How Do You Know Who Was At Fault For A Car Accident?

The fault for a car accident is often complicated and unclear. Even when you know you did not cause the crash at all, you can probably expect that the other driver will blame you for it. Investigating available evidence in the days and weeks after a crash can reveal fault more clearly. Working with a New Bedford lawyer to conduct this investigation is advised.

What If You Were Partly At Fault For A Car Accident?

Massachusetts bars you from receiving compensation from another driver if you were 51% liable for the crash or more. Otherwise, you can file a claim or lawsuit if you were partly at fault but not mostly at fault.

Is The Rear Driver Always Liable For A Rear-End Collision?

Yes, generally, however, l­­iability can be split between the front and rear car in a rear-end collision. It depends on the context of the crash. For example, a car that backs out of a parking spot without checking blind spots and gets rear-ended could be liable for the accident.

How Long After A Car Accident Can You File A Lawsuit?

You have three years in Massachusetts to file a personal injury claim like a car accident claim. The statute of limitations begins on the date of the accident or when your injuries are reasonably apparent or diagnosed. Waiting to the end of the statute of limitations is not advised because evidence is more useful when it is fresher in your mind.

Do You Have To Accept An Insurance Settlement?

You do not need to accept any settlement from an auto insurance company that you don’t want to accept. You can always push for a lawsuit if you think your settlement offers have been too low. We recommend working closely with a lawyer from our firm, though, so you can feel confident about rejecting or accepting a settlement.

What to Do if You Get in a Car Accident in Massachusetts?

Motor vehicle accidents are chaotic and overwhelming events. Unfortunately, victims often leave the scene of an accident without adequately protecting their rights. You must always call law enforcement after being involved in an accident to ensure a police report is filed. The responding officer will be able to conduct an investigation, interview the drivers involved, and interview any witnesses who might have been present.

This will be critical to your personal injury cases. Both your insurance and the at-fault party’s insurance will be able to access it almost immediately afterward. In many car accident cases, an insurance company will base their decisions off what they review in the police report, which is why you should absolutely never allow the responsible party to leave the scene before the police arrive.

Speak With Morgan & Murphy, LLP Today!

If you or a loved one suffer an injury in a car accident caused by the negligent actions of another driver, you might be able to recover compensation for your injuries, including medical bills, lost time from work, missed wages, and pain and suffering.

Backed by over 80 years of shared legal experience, our New Bedford car accident lawyers have secured positive outcomes for clients across Massachusetts so you can be confident in our ability to effectively represent your injury case. You should not have to pay for someone else’s mistakes or bear this burden on your own. Our team of New Bedford car accident attorneys are here to help.

Take action today. Reach out to Morgan & Murphy at (508) 966-7254 to schedule your free case evaluation with one of our knowledgeable and compassionate car accident lawyers.

Read more in our blog:

Our Victories

Helping our clients win back what they deserve!
  • $1,875,000.00 Auto Accident
  • $1,035,000.00 Auto Accident
  • $1,000,000.00 Auto Accident
  • $850,000.00 Auto Accident
  • $475,000.00 Auto Accident
  • $400,000.00 Workers' Compensation
  • $400,000.00 Workers' Compensation
  • $360,000.00 Workers' Compensation
  • $275,000.00 Product Liability
  • $275,000.00 Worker’s Compensation

Contact Morgan & Murphy

Help Is Just a Click Away.
  1. We are a locally-owned law firm, serving clients across New Bedford.
  2. Our attorneys have over 80 years of combined experience.
  3. We have successfully helped more than 10,000 victims recover.
  4. At our firm, personal injury matters are our only focus.
  5. Our entire legal team is accessible to you at all times.
Schedule a Free & Confidential Consultation
  • Please enter your name.
  • This isn't a valid email address.
    Please enter your email address.
  • This isn't a valid phone number.
    Please enter your phone number.
    You entered an invalid number.
  • Please enter your city.
  • Please select an option.
  • Please enter a message.